MLK weekend
Stripes
January 17, 2006

so this is why my 3 day weekend, in which I was hoping I would rest, SUCKED.
So I flew out to see my "wonderful" parents in NC. We got there Sat. morning, after almost missing our flight due to an accident on the baltimore beltway right near the airport. Apparently people enjoy smashing into the cement walls and involving other cars on their smart idea at 8am. We got to NC and my dad picked us up. And we picked up food for the baby's party. The ride was nice because my dad wasn't annoying. he rarely is.
So we get to their new house, which is great. Wish we lived there during HS. Things probably would of been a lot different. The whole 2nd floor is a game room and there is a huge room and a nice sized bathroom up there as well. That would of been my room.
So we say our hellos and of course my mom starts critizing my father and my shirt I was wearing.
I went to the mall friday and got new jeans, which I am boosted about because I now wear a SIZE 5. And I got a West Coast customs graphic tee. Apparently my mom thinks I'm too old for these kind of shirts. I try to tell her that everyone my age wears funky shirts and since I can now fit back into juniors, I'm going to continue wearing what I think is cute and she should just leave me alone. I go throught the house and realize it is a shrine to my little brother and all his awards he has received. And a few pics of the baby scattered around. In the study there is a huge pic of him in his fencing gear and his grad pics from HS on the shelves and all his awards posted on the wall. He even has his own room. I get the guest room. There are no pics of me in the house other than the one with me and the baby which is in a small frame on the kitchen counter, right next to my bro. This pisses me off but I say nothing.
We eat lunch and of course my mom bitches at my dad for no reason and just is plain annoying in asking questions pertaining to me and S. And then she starts praising the "golden child" (which is my bro who graduates from Yale in May) and stating I need to come to the grad and S as well because they booked us a room. I tell her maybe and she bitches about it as well.
So the baby leaves with my dad to go to a bday party of her little friend. They were playing laser tag, so I was left alone with the "witch". She then keeps bothering me about the divorce, selling the house and pretty much plans mine and S's wedding for her back yard and gazebo at her house and where Steven's mom would stay in the house and where S and I would stay. I just laugh and play along, but then tell her I doubt we will get married here.
So then some old friends from VA come in, which saved me and I went upstairs after saying hi and started watching my SKINS game and fell asleep in the recliner. I woke up and went back downstairs to see if my baby was back. She wasn't. It was close to the time the party was going to start so I turned the game on in the kitchen and sat on the stool and watched it with Mr. R. I was very mad how shitty they were playing but I have to say the seahawks offense is huge and were good.
So my grandma comes and I have to introduce myself to her. She has no idea who I am. She has really bad alzheimers. This was frusturating and sad. Then she asks me again who I am 10 minutes later. The rest of my "lovely" family comes and I continue to chill with Mr. R and watch the game. Still no baby to save me from the hell.
The baby finally arrives back and immediately makes a beeline for her fav. cousins. Totally not saving me from being the outcast. So Mr. R and his wife have to go and see their son and eat dinner with him and they would be back. Damnit there goes my barrier. So we eat and I am still watching the game and my mom's neighbors come over and their daughter comes. She's sweet, but not yet 21. She talks and talks and tells me they had just moved from Mont. Co. Then her mom chimes in and say they loved it and I asked which part they lived in. They say N. potomac. I was about to loose it. Let me break it down for my readers about where I live in relation to where they moved from:
N. potomac is the riches area, including Bethesda and Georgetown in MD. Where I live, which is Mont. village is the shittiest, except for some parts of germantown and gatiehrsburg as well as rockville. I had to tell her that mont. co is not what she was accustomed to and that the mont. co I know and live in and the mont. co she lived in are totally different. it's like comapring the USA and a 3rd world country. I didn't say anything else to her mom and continued screaming at the TV while Brunnell ruined the game for the skins. I am disappointed in them but knew that they were not going all the way.
So we finish eating and then the baby blows out her candles and opens presents. She did really well, lots of arts and crafts. then she goes back upstairs and plays with her cousins. My cousin my age recently got married to a really nice guy but we have some issues that never got resolved and we are not close anymore. So it took till almost the end of the party to talk and then it was like old times. I was sad when they left.
Everyone leaves and I get the baby bathed and ready for bed. She passes out as soon as she hits the pillow. That figures.
So I go downstairs because Mr. R and his wife are back. YES! they save me by talking to me and sitting with my mom and I. My mom then asks me for a manicure because apparently I do it better in her opinion then any nail salon she has gone to. This is a huge compliment from the "wicked witch of the west". So I finish her up and go to bed. Wonderful sleep.
Sunday we go and pick up grandma and go to church. I re-introduce myself as well as the baby. the baby then proceeds to tell her "you were at my party yesterday and gave me $10". Gma has no clue. We go to church and I fall asleep. got the evil eyes from the witch. The R's had left before we went to church to go back home to tend to their sick daughter. Damnit!
So we go and pick up my little cousins, well they are 15 and 12 and my dad drops me and the witch off at home and brings the baby and the cousins to chuck e cheese. So no baby to save me again.
So we go to the mall and she buys me a skirt, which I love and a shirt from Chico's. I would never imagine spending $116 on 2 items. but my dad is a millionare so let her spend the money. We eat lunch, which is eerily pleasant and go home. the baby is home and sleeping.
So my dad and I watch the panther game. It was a good game and I'm glad they won. I hope they go all the way again.
We eat dinner and then we walk the dog. We get back to the house and the baby takes a bath and passes out again. Without a guard again.
I give my mother another manicure and then go to bed.
Monday I wake up to the baby saying it's her birthday and I was so happy. Then we eat breakfast and the witch and I get into a very heated discussion in front of the baby. Then we calm down and I make sure we are all packed and we leave to go eat lunch with my dad. On the way the witch shows me house S and I could afford if we moved to NC. I assure her I will not be moving down to NC. I tell her I dislike my family, except my aunt chris. she is cool.
We eat lunch with my dad and the baby goes into the playland. Damnit. Then I'm asked many questions and they start to piss me off. We leave and then drop my dad back to work and head to the mall close to the airport. I was distracted so I didn't see anything I liked so we left for the airport.
So when we are saying goodbye my mom starts crying and says she loves me and is squeezing me so tight I can't breath. I go through security and apparently Charlotte airport thinks I'm a terrorist because they went through my bag that was packed to the brim. That pissed me off because I had to re-organize it. they swabbed the inside of the bag with some cloth and put it in a machine and not tell me anything.
We get to the gate and then on the plane. The baby and I are sat next to a smelly old lady and the trip was smelly and annoying.
We get back to MD and of course the Nana is there with all these balloons.
So we get back to her house and the Nana lets her open all her presents from them, which I thought we were waiting and S picks me up.
I get home and I am so glad. S and I talked and we watched 24. I had never seen the show but I love it. I then shower and go to bed. S comes up and we have a nice session. It was great.

So other than the sex I had with my man when I got back and spending time with my baby, everything else sucked.
So I'm at work and reading my bosses thing that is due today..

BeforeorAfter