Swim meet from hell
Stripes
July 20, 2006

Ok this entry is for all the moms out there that have been embarassed by their children one time or another.
The baby had her first swim meet last night. I got there after work and as soon as I walked up she became hysterical and saying she wanted to go home. I told her that she will not be going home and that I had driven over here and S was getting off early to see her swim. Her Nana was there and she was like I am not taking this drama and kept walking off, which made her more hysterical. So she was causing a huge scene and people were looking at me like take that crying child home. But I do not beleive in quitting something unless you have tried.
So her coach had decided to paint these red lines on their faces and I of course had a white t-shirt on. It has been ruined. #4 white shirt that my child has ruined. Oh well. That's why I shop at target.
So the baby is crying and hysterical and I call S to tell him not to come cause all she is doing is crying but he was already in the area. He came directly from work. So they line them up and she will not let me leave her. Finally she does and during the national anthem I see another parent trying to console her and bringing her back. I walk over there and get her from the parent and put her back on the starting bench. She is still crying. Then the Nana comes over and sits with her till the minute she jumps in the pool. And to make it worse the baby makes her coach DJ get in the water with her. The only child swimming with her coach in her lane.
She came in last place cause she was so tired and upset and just wasn't feeling the swim meet. She got out and we're all telling her good job and S even does and she starts bawling again. So we go and sit down and everyone is trying to make her happy, but nothing is working. And then she turns and says she wants S to go home. This crushes him because he worked his ass off to get off early to come to the meet and the UPS building is not convenient to where the meet was. So he left and he was upset. This in turn made me angry with her because she was being rude. I had had it by then. She was signed up for the kickboard relay but her Nana had left because she is all about appearences and hers was damaged by the baby's behavior. I could give a shit less, let the other uppity parents realize I'm not raising a quitter. So I gathered her stuff up and we walked out to the car. She then says she wants to go back and swim and I tell her fine so we go back in and the coach had disqualified her from the event. So we left. She kept saying it was all her fault and I said yes it is. I'm not going to sugar coat it.
So we go to the Nana's house and I tell her how proud I am of her swimming in her event but disappointed by her attitude and her behavior. I made her call S to apologize and they made up. And after her bath, she was fine and she ate dinner. But never again will we do an evening swim meet without a NAP first. But the school system has kicked naps out so there is nothing I can do about it since I work full time and her Nana works PT. But she apologized and seemed ok when I left.
But I was so emabarassed by the way my ususally calm 5 1/2 year old was acting. And I was pissed how rude she was acting towards S and everyone else. But I can't blame her totally since the meet was after 6pm and she had not had a nap. But I made her swim one event because that is what you do when you are on a team, you participate. I hope next time she will be ok, but I think her Nana has had it with swim meets and unless I am at the pool with her when a swim meet is announced, I will never know. That's why this arrangement is annoying because I am out of the loop.
And that's it. My girl's last day at work is tomorrow and then she's moving this weekend. I was going to help her but I think I got the stomach bug and I have a feeling sometime soon I will be seeing the toilet as my best friend...

BeforeorAfter