rants
Stripes
February 28, 2006

What do you all think of pushy parents? I am not one for pushing your kids to do something they don't want to do or are not ready for.
The reason I bring this up is I was at the pharmacy dropping off my prescription at lunch time (My Dr. finally called me back) and this lady was standing there with her toddler, probably around 4 or 5. The mom leaned down and told the kid to stand up straighter. The kid was standing fine to me, but whatever. Then the mother leans down again and tells the kid that she isn't standing straight enough and what are the judges going to say at this weekend pageant. And the kid is like "I don't want to do the pageant". And the mom says "I don't care, you're doing it. Stand straight and stop messing around". This little girl starts crying and saying she doesn't want to do it and just in a fit.

My daughter has done some pageants but not like Jon Benet Ramsey. I dressed her in a cute little dress from the Children's Place and just let her be herself. The last pageant we did, we were next to this girl, who had the looks of the made up jon benet ramsey, and her mom was pinhing her arm telling her to smile and wave at the judges. I looked over at the baby and leaned down and told her as soon as we were done we are getting ice cream. Of course the baby didn't win, but she got a trophy and we got ice cream. The little girl that got pinched didn't win either and she was crying with makeup all over her face as her mother was yelling at her. How ridiculous!

The baby has won some things, like saving and college bonds, but that last pageant did it for me. She also was a finalist for an agency that represents the Disney Channel, but they wanted her in acting classes every weekend that costs about $1500. If the baby was older and she said she really wanted to do it, then I'd let her. But I'm not going to fork over 1500 dollars for a 5 year old kid to change her mind the following week.

But that is my rant on pushy parents.

And here is short rant on why I think the state of MD is stupid! I have filed my taxes every year since I moved here in 2000. Well apparently the state of MD doesn't have 2002, 2003 or 2004 state taxes for me. So they took my 2005 refund of $160 and applied it to my 2003 deliquent bill of close to $2000 for not filing my 2003 taxes....so Friday after court I have to drive 35 minutes to the comptroller office and talk to them. FUCK

ok done ranting...adios

BeforeorAfter