closing the door
Stripes
August 16, 2006

well last night I put the baby in her room and held the door closed because she would not listen and ended up throwing her dinner all over the floor. I spent an hour making BBQ chicken, corn and biscuits and she had seen what I was making and was fine with it, but when I put it in front of her she decided it was disgusting and didn't want to eat and was being a royal pain in the ass. I calmly warned her over and over again until she had the plate drop on the floor and on our persian rug. I was about to loose it but then decided to just put her in her room and close the door for a timeout.
Well hearing her screaming and crying made me tear up so I had to call S upstairs to hold the door and I sat on the step crying because she was screaming and pleading and hyperventilating. Finally after about 5 mminutes I was like let her out and I grabbed her and hugged her and asked her if she knew why she had been put in her room and she for not listening and I told her that I loved her and it hurt me as much as it hurt her to put her in her room and close the door. Her light was on so it wasn't dark and she was just hitting the door with her fists and screaming. But after that episode she was a perfect angel all night and even this morning. I told her that she needs to listen to me and that I am in charge and I don't want to have issues all week while her Nana is on vacation. She said it's a deal and she was perfect.
So that was my night. I felt so bad but I thought about it, she wasn't hurt, she was just in her room and I don't beleive in hitting your kids so putting her in her room for 5 minutes I think was a better decision since sitting on the step no longer works.
Was I wrong? I just felt awful but it made her realize mommy is not to be messed with!

BeforeorAfter